The power station at the Sphinx and the two underlying boiler houses date from 1910. In 1996, the building was declared a national monument. An extensive restoration began to prepare the building for the next century and preserve its rich history. Verlaan & Bouwstra architects have been tasked with modernising the building while preserving its many decorative elements, such as the iron rosettes and ornaments. JHK Architects in Utrecht shall complete the building with their designs for the entrance and movie theatres.
After the rebuild by the contractor, Laudy, the three halls will accommodate the cinemas and the foyer/restaurant. The six screening rooms, with a total capacity of five hundred seats, will be placed inside of the characteristic halls. Partly submerging the bottom three screening rooms will provide space above to allow for the unbroken expanse of the original roofing construction. Above these three rooms, a vast foyer area will connect the three halls together.
In the former the power station – the hall adjacent to the Bassin – will be a foyer/restaurant and a terrace overlooking the water. This building is a unique national monument. The impressive truss structure and the steel frame, with its masonry and plaster, have been completely renovated. The special decorative elements, such as the iron rosettes, heraldic ornaments, and the ceramic roof ridges, have been restored to their original state.
The Lumière’s future entrance, the kitchen, and the film theatre’s offices are accommodated in the adjacent ‘Hennebiquegebouw’: a white, in-between building, which connects the three halls to the Timmerfabriek. The diagonal plane of the grand staircase cuts through this existing building and connects the Bassin to the courtyard of the factory complex, which is also home to the Muziekgieterij and Bureau Europa.